Mobile: (416) 219-6066

Welcome to Ontario

    Government of Ontario, Canada

    Ontario is Canada's second largest province, covering more than 1 million square kilometres (415,000 square miles) - an area larger than France and Spain combined. Ontario is bounded by Quebec  to the east, Manitoba to the west, Hudson Bay and James Bay to the north, and the St. Lawrence River and the Great Lakes to the south.

    Here are some key facts about Ontario’s geography:

    • the longest east-west distance in Ontario is 1,568 kilometres (974 miles). The longest north-south distance is 1,691 kilometres (1,050 miles). The highest point is 693 metres (785 yards) above sea level, in the Timiskaming area
    • Manitoulin Island in Georgian Bay is the world's largest freshwater island, covering 2,766 square kilometres (1,068 square miles)
    • Ontario is home to 2 time zones: the boundary line between the Central Time Zone and Eastern Time Zone is just west of Thunder Bay, running north from the United States border to Hudson Bay
    • Ontario's most northerly communities are close to the same latitude as London, England and Warsaw, Poland. Ontario's southernmost point of land is Middle Island, in Lake Erie south of Point Pelee, roughly parallel to Barcelona, Spain or Rome, Italy
    Capital: Toronto
  • Motto: Ut Inceptit Fedelis Sic Permanet (Loyal it began, loyal it remains)

    Flower: White Trillium

  • Population13.51 million (2012)
  • Area1,076,395 km²


Real Estate Website powered by Point2
Point2 Homes Toronto
©2003-2017 Engel & Völkers Toronto Central